TikTok has officially launched a limited test of its new Post Watch History option, which allows users to see which of their followers watched their videos.
This is done if said viewers choose to allow their activity to be tracked. On the other hand, people you follow can see that you’ve seen their posts.
Some users of the platform are now being notified of the choice, which relates to users you follow, or who are following you, providing another measure of TikTok community engagement.
A spokesperson for the platform said: The new feature is not widely available. This indicates that it is currently part of limited testing with select users.
The feature was first spotted in testing in January of this year. And social media consultant Matt Navarra shared screenshots showing the new job.
And the screenshots indicate that you can turn off the feature at any time from the settings menu. In addition, it appears that the post watch history feature will only be available for seven days from the date the video was posted.
A spokesperson for the platform said: “We are always thinking of new ways to add value to our community and enrich the TikTok experience.
As with any other testing feature, it is unknown when or if TikTok plans to roll out this functionality more broadly.
And if it’s officially rolled out, it should represent an expansion of the existing TikTok feature that lets you know who’s viewed your profile.
TikTok launches a new watch record quiz
The feature to see who viewed your profile is available to users over 16 years of age with less than 5,000 followers.
And if you have the feature, you see an eye icon in the top-right corner when you look at your profile. And if you click on the eye icon, you’ll see who’s viewed your profile in the last 30 days.
And only you can see who viewed your profile. But if you turn on the feature, you also agree to let others see that you’ve viewed their profile.
You must manually sign up for the profile view feature. But it is not known if this is the case with the post’s view history.
And TikTok did not say whether other people could see that you watched their video only if the feature was turned on, as is the case with profile views.
And the new feature could be a welcome addition for people who want to keep track of who’s watching their content. But on the other hand, it can be an unpleasant feature for users who want to keep their viewing history for themselves.